journeynomad.blogg.se

Slack for iphone says offline but its not
Slack for iphone says offline but its not














No one thinks the happy cowboy (đŸ€ ) is pushy. And best of all, Slack breaks the double bind, in which women are disliked for being either too assertive or too nurturing. It’s much easier to perform your gender with a dancing penguin than by “ power posing” or whatever. I simply say what needs to be said in Slack, throw in an exclamation point and a nice emoji, and call it a day.

slack for iphone says offline but its not

Of course, I still want my colleagues to like me, so I still bend a knee to gender norms. I don’t have to smile, I don’t have to worry about my vocal tone, and no one cares how I’m sitting. Now I feel like I can throw all these books in the garbage, because the only things that matter to my work success are the sentences I type into Google Docs and the sentences I type into Slack.

Slack for iphone says offline but its not how to#

The Girl’s Guide to Being a Boss (Without Being a Bitch) advises said girl, “Don’t let self-doubt creep into your tone.” Former CNN Vice President Gail Evans, in Play Like a Man, Win Like a Woman, suggests that women try to sit more like men do, admitting, “It took me years to figure out how to inhabit my executive desk chair.” Years! Worrying about sitting! “A woman’s request will be better received if she asserts ‘We had a great year,’ as opposed to ‘I had a great year.’” Even better if she can do so while smiling like a girlboss rodeo clown. “Whenever possible, women should substitute ‘we’ for ‘I,’” Sheryl Sandberg writes in Lean In, the holy writ of this genre.

slack for iphone says offline but its not slack for iphone says offline but its not

(This being the innocent springtime of the pre-Trump era, “what you want” was typically imagined to be a promotion.) Because women face backlash for behaving assertively in the workplace, these books mostly advise pretending to be nicer while subtly trying to get what you want. Years ago, for a story and in an attempt to be more successful, I read a bunch of “how to be a woman at work” books.














Slack for iphone says offline but its not